The Conversationalist
The Conversationalist
The Dunya
0:00
-1:07:05

The Dunya

The Temporal World

This is a post where I had to let go of my fear around perception.

Yep. All of you. Your perception.

I wanted to redo it. I didn’t like my delivery. I knew I could have done it better.

This is a common practice with everything I share online. I retry, redo, relisten, all the good “re’s”. It’s effective editing and how I improve.

When I decided to keep it… I started brainstorming ideas for how to prep you for a piece of work I knew could have been done better:

  • Could have been more concise, more exact, more refined.

  • Could have been less pauses, less uhms, less space between thoughts.

I wasn’t satisfied! Then I thought, I could “re-record” my ideas with more conviction. I came back to write detailed notes on this episode so I wouldn’t miss a single point on my second attempt.

It just sounds better when people are speaking from a place of knowing vs unpacking wondering thoughts with gaps in thinking.

Start writing today. Use the button below to create your Substack and connect your publication with The Conversationalist

Start a Substack

After thinking about all the ways to doctor it up, I decided to let go of how it will land.

In all honesty, I love this episode. And everything I shared.

The perception was what I was most worried about.

But today I went for raw and organic. And sometimes that feels as good, or even better than spending all the time in the world prepping for the most refined finished product.

Here are a few things I touched on in no particular order:

  • Attachment

  • Dunya

  • Empathy - Understanding - Anger

  • Romance

  • Critiques & Compliments

  • Key Words

  • Fawning

  • Checking In

Even though the conversation made it to the final destination. My path to it had all sorts of detours and, gaps and curiosities along the way. Funny enough, the model of life.

A big thank you to those who came full circle with me. And a big thank you to those who didn’t.

Beginning to think more and more, it all has it’s place.

*** I looked up the word Dunya, and it varied from the context I heard the word used. Online it refers to the temporal world and its earthly concerns and possessions, as opposed to the hereafter.

Similar but different.

Share The Conversationalist

Consider donating on paypal , cashapp , or venmo (@el_eanordavid) to support my work

If you’re interested in more of my reflections, you can check out my Instagram

Discussion about this podcast

The Conversationalist
The Conversationalist
The Conversationalist reveals subliminal messages that divides the sexes and distract the masses.
Eleanor has been referred to as a mind reader on more than one occasion. But she thinks of herself as a subconscious translator. The Conversationalist was born to reveal what's been concealed, not only in mass media but also your personal psychology. A show for sophisticated thinkers who braid in spirituality along with way.
You're welcome to join The Conversation.